- Advertisement -

Zahid returns as number 2, Anwar keeps finance as he unveils Cabinet

The Cabinet line-up announced by the prime minister confirms speculation over the inclusion of the 'court cluster'.

Nur Hasliza Mohd Salleh
2 minute read
Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim announces his Cabinet line-up at Perdana Putra in Putrajaya today.
Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim announces his Cabinet line-up at Perdana Putra in Putrajaya today.

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim has named Ahmad Zahid Hamidi as deputy prime minister, returning the Umno president to the number two post he last held in 2018 despite him facing multiple charges of corruption.

In a surprise move, Anwar also named himself as the finance minister, in what is seen as a repeat of the Najib Razak era when the prime minister also assumed the critical portfolio.

Rafizi Ramli meanwhile, who was thought to be eyeing the finance ministry, was named the economic affairs minister, a position once held by his former arch rival in PKR, Mohamed Azmin Ali.

Tengku Zafrul Aziz also saw a return to the Cabinet as the international trade and industry minister. 

The former banker was first recruited as finance minister under the Perikatan Nasional government, and failed to debut as an MP when he lost to incumbent Dzulkefly Ahmad in Kuala Selangor at the recent general election.

Meanwhile, the widely expected post of second deputy prime minister went to Fadillah Yusof of GPS.

However, former health minister Dzulkefly who retained his Kuala Selangor seat was not named for any portfolio.

Amanah president Mohamad Sabu, who was given the powerful post of defence minister under Dr Mahathir Mohamad's two-year administration, was given the agriculture portfolio.

PKR was allocated two important ministries: education (Fadhlina Siddiq) and home affairs (Saifuddin Nasution).

The following is the full list of Cabinet members:

1. Anwar Ibrahim (prime minister, finance)
2. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (deputy prime minister, rural and regional development)
3. Fadillah Yusof (deputy prime minister, plantation industries and commodities)
4. Anthony Loke Siew Fook (transport)
5. Mohamad Sabu (agriculture and food security)
6. Rafizi Ramli (economic affairs)
7. Nga Kor Ming (local government development)
8. Mohamad Hasan (defence)
9. Alexander Nanta Linggi (works)
10. Saifuddin Nasution (home affairs)
11. Tengku Zafrul Aziz (international trade and industry)
12. Mohamed Khaled Nordin (higher education)
13. Chang Lih Kang (science and technology)
14. Nancy Shukri (women, family and community development)
15. Salahuddin Ayub (domestic trade and cost of living)
16. Azalina Othman (law and institutional reform)
17. Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (natural resources, environment and climate change)
18. Ewon Benedick (entrepreneurship and cooperative development)
19. Zambry Abd Kadir (foreign affairs)
20. Tiong King Sing (tourism)
21. Fahmi Fadzil (digital communications)
22. Fadhlina Sidek (education)
23. Ago Anak Dagang (national unity)
24. Mohd Na'im Mokhtar (religious affairs)
25. Hannah Yeoh (youth and sports)
26. Sivakumar Varatharaju Naidu (human resources)
27. Zaliha Mustafa (health)
28. Armizan Mohd Ali (Sabah and Sarawak)