Wednesday, February 24, 2021

PH names trio as nominees for emergency committee

They say their first recommendation will be to revoke the emergency.

Other News

Muhyiddin individu pertama terima vaksin Covid-19 hari ini

Turut dijadualkan menerima vaksin itu pada petang ini ialah Ketua Pengarah Kesihatan Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah serta empat lagi warga kerja kementerian kesihatan.

Phone app giving instant health checks trialled in Singapore

The app could become the first line of defence against further outbreaks of Covid-19.

Global digital vaccination travel passport ready ‘within weeks’

As the pandemic continues, governments are preparing to only allow vaccinated tourists to enter their countries.

Guinea launches Ebola vaccination campaign

Guinea's health minister expects an end to the outbreak in about six weeks.

SolarWinds hack required massive, sophisticated effort, says Microsoft head

Microsoft, one of more than 100 companies attacked and 18,000 left vulnerable by the hack, has analysed the work it took to insert malware into widely used security software created by SolarWinds.

Pakatan Harapan (PH) has submitted the names of three former ministers, one from each of the parties that make up the coalition, to be part of the bipartisan emergency committee to advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

They are PKR’s Saifuddin Nasution, DAP’s Loke Siew Fook and Amanah’s Dzulkefly Ahmad.

But in a statement, the coalition said the three would recommend that the Agong revoke the Covid-19 emergency declared last week.

It also said its opposition to the proclamation remains.

“The participation of opposition representatives in the bipartisan committee will not change our stand in rejecting the reasons given by the prime minister for the emergency,” it said.

PH’s statement today came after threats to boycott the bipartisan committee on the state of emergency announced on Jan 12 after weeks of spikes in daily cases, ahead of the return of the movement control order in large parts of the country.

Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin had assured that a civilian government would remain despite the suspension of Parliament to prevent snap polls, with daily activities allowed throughout the emergency period ending Aug 1.

PH leader Anwar Ibrahim however launched a petition campaign urging MPs to write to the palace to rescind the proclamation of emergency, and vowed to challenge the proclamation in court.

He later said PH had decided to cooperate, adding however that the committee would not have executive powers but would only act in an advisory role.

He also said the suit he planned to file on the state of emergency was not to challenge the declaration, but to call for parliamentary sittings to be held throughout the period.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles

Ahli Parlimen PH dalam jawatankuasa khas darurat tetap mahukan sidang Parlimen

Mereka berkata sidang Dewan Rakyat sangat penting untuk memastikan segala agenda dan langkah-langkah untuk membendung Covid-19 dapat dibahaskan.

PH trio in emergency committee insist on Dewan Rakyat sitting

They say this will help ensure checks and balance and allow MPs to debate the measures taken to contain Covid-19.

Court will decide whether Parliament can or cannot stand suspended

The court adjudicates solely on constitutional provisions and not on why schools can re-open but Parliament cannot convene.

Why schools can re-open but Parliament cannot convene

If the emergency is lifted and the prime minister loses a no-confidence vote, failure to agree on a PM candidate would result in a snap election.

Lebih baik DAP kembalikan sistem Residen seperti zaman penjajah British-Malaya

Rakyat tahu, DAP ini jenis yang rasa hanya kerajaan Pakatan Harapan (PH) yang terbaik dan kerajaan lain adalah buruk, busuk dan teruk sahaja.