Monday, October 25, 2021

Remaining Perak exco members depend on suitability, green light from sultan, says Saarani

Saarani Mohamad says he will propose the five names to Sultan Nazrin Shah as soon as possible.

Other News

Whether the five remaining Perak state executive councillors to be appointed will feature the same faces from the previous line-up will depend on suitability and the consent of Perak ruler Sultan Nazrin Shah, Menteri Besar Saarani Mohamad says.

Saarani, who was sworn in as menteri besar yesterday, said he will propose the five names to Sultan Nazrin as soon as possible.

“I can’t announce the proposed names now. We will fill up all the vacant positions but the appointments will still need the consent of His Highness the Sultan of Perak,” he said after clocking in for his first day at work at the Perak Darul Ridzuan building today.

Yesterday, five assemblymen were sworn in as state executive councillors.

Four of them were exco members from the previous administration, namely Zolkafly Harun (BN-Lintang), Shahrul Zaman Yahya (BN-Rungkup), Wan Norashikin Wan Noordin (BN-Kampung Gajah) and Khairul Shahril Mohamed (BN-Bota).

The fifth assemblyman was Zainol Fadzi Paharudin (Bersatu-Sungai Manik).

The previous Perak exco line-up was dissolved following the resignation of Ahmad Faizal Azumu as menteri Bbesar on Dec 5 after losing a vote of confidence during the state legislative assembly sitting.

He garnered 10 votes while 48 assemblymen voted against him and one abstained.

The motion was brought by Barisan Nasional assemblyman for Pengkalan Baru, Abd Manap Hashim.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles