Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Sarawak CM unveils new Cabinet line-up

His three deputy chief ministers are Dr Sim Kui Hian, Douglas Uggah Embas and Awang Tengah Ali Hasan.

Other News

Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg today announced his Cabinet line-up in the aftermath of the recent state election, with Batu Kawah assemblyman Dr Sim Kui Hian named as one of his deputy chief ministers.

The new line-up which comes into effect today saw Douglas Uggah Embas and Awang Tengah Ali Hasan likewise appointed as deputy chief ministers.

Uggah also replaces the late James Masing as development of infrastructure and ports minister while Awang was assigned the international trade and industry, industrial terminal and entrepreneur development portfolio.

Speaking at a press conference in Kuching, Abang Johari said the new state Cabinet was in line with Sarawak’s objective to become a developed state by 2030.

“It is my conviction that the new Cabinet line-up is a functional Cabinet, equipped with competent, people-driven, transparent individuals with integrity who are focused on delivering effective services while maintaining a solid structure system,” he said.

He added that the Cabinet’s main task would be to tackle the Covid-19 pandemic and to restore the economy.

The new line-up comprises 10 ministers and 26 assistant ministers, most of whose portfolios were retained.

Sim was also appointed as minister of public health, housing and local government.

Sebuyau assemblyman Julaihi Narawi who was previously the assistant minister of infrastructure and port development was promoted to minister of utilities and telecommunications.

The new Cabinet sees 10 new faces as assistant ministers:

1. Juanda Jaya (integrity and ombudsman)
2. Jefferson Jamit Unyat (law and customary lands)
3. Hazland Abang Hipni (energy and environmental sustainability)
4. Aidel Lariwoo (infrastructure and port development)
5. Majang Renggi (infrastructure and port development)
6. Michael Tiang Ming Tee (public health, housing and local government)
7. Martin Ben (agricultural modernisation and rural development)
8. Henry Harry Jinep (transport)
9. Ripin Lamat (youth, sports and entrepreneurship development)
10. Mohamad Razi Sitam (women, children and community welfare development)

Kemena assemblyman Dr Stephen Rundi Utom who was previously utilities minister was appointed as minister of agricultural modernisation and rural development.

Tarat assemblyman Roland Sagah Wee Inn who was assistant minister of agricultural modernisation, customary lands and regional development was promoted to a full minister in charge of education, innovation and talent development.

Meanwhile John Sikei Tayai, who was assistant minister of native law and customary land, was promoted to minister in the Chief Minister’s Department, replacing Talip Zulpilip.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles