Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Zafrul returns to finance portfolio as PM maintains most in Cabinet

Khairy Jamaluddin meanwhile will be made health minister.

Other News

Tengku Zafrul Aziz will retain his finance portfolio in Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s Cabinet line-up, among many ministers from the previous government who were maintained.

Khairy Jamaluddin meanwhile has been made health minister while his predecessor Dr Adham Baba will be science, technology and innovation minister.

Saifuddin Abdullah has been appointed as foreign minister.

However, the post of deputy prime minister has been left vacant.

Several other names bandied about as possible members of the Cabinet did not make it on the list, including Umno deputy president Mohamad Hasan and former deputy speaker Azalina Othman Said.

Meanwhile, Shamsul Anuar Nasarah, who resigned as the energy and natural resources minister, toeing the line of his party boss in revoking support for former prime minister Muhyiddin Yassin, did not return to the Cabinet.

The rest are as follows:

International trade and industry: Mohamed Azmin Ali

Works: Fadillah Yusof

Education: Radzi Jidin

Economic affairs: Mustapa Mohamed

Special functions: Abdul Latiff Ahmad

Defence: Hishammuddin Hussein

Parliament and law: Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar

Religious affairs: Idris Ahmad

Sabah and Sarawak: Maximus Ongkili

Transport: Wee Ka Siong

Environment and water: Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man

Human resources: M Saravanan

Federal territories: Shahidan Kassim

Women, family and community development: Rina Harun

Higher education: Noraini Ahmad

Energy and natural resources: Takiyuddin Hassan

Home affairs: Hamzah Zainudin

Agriculture and food industries: Ronald Kiandee

Rural development: Mahdzir Khalid

Domestic trade and consumer affairs: Alexander Nanta Linggi

Communications and multimedia: Annuar Musa

Housing and local development: Reezal Merican Naina Merican

Entrepreneur development and cooperatives: Noh Omar

Plantation industries and commodities: Zuraida Kamaruddin

Tourism, arts and culture: Nancy Shukri

National unity: Halimah Mohamed Sadique

Youth and sports: Ahmad Faizal Azumu

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles