Tuesday, November 30, 2021

2 PKR MPs quit, declare support for Muhyiddin in blow to party

The decision ends weeks of speculation about their frustration with PKR chief Anwar Ibrahim.

Other News

Two PKR MPs have quit the party and declared their support for Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin, dealing the most serious blow to the PKR since the last exodus of its senior leaders in 2020.

Sarawak’s Julau MP Larry Sng and Johor’s Tebrau MP Steven Choong will now remain as independents, ending weeks of rumours over their loyalty to party president Anwar Ibrahim.

The duo today had a meeting with Muhyiddin to convey their decision.

Present were Bersatu secretary-general Hamzah Zainuddin, PAS secretary-general Takiyuddin Hassan, as well as Mohamed Azmin Ali, Zuraida Kamaruddin and Saifuddin Abdullah, three former PKR leaders who quit last year to join Muhyiddin’s Cabinet.

The move is seen as a much needed boost for the ruling bloc in the event that Dewan Rakyat convenes, following threats by Umno MPs loyal to former prime minister Najib Razak to revoke their support for Muhyiddin.

Steven Choong (left) and Larry Sng with Muhyiddin Yassin today, showing statutory declarations of support for the prime minister.

Their exit sees PKR’s parliamentary strength further reduced to 36 MPs, one year after the exodus of former deputy president Azmin and several other MPS during the political crisis that saw the change of government.

PKR won 47 seats in the May 2018 general election.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles