- Advertisement -

Penang assembly to dissolve on June 28

This is to make way for the holding of state polls.

Staff Writers
1 minute read
An aerial view of the Komtar building and the iconic Penang Bridge.
An aerial view of the Komtar building and the iconic Penang Bridge.

The Penang state assembly will dissolve on June 28 to make way for state polls, Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said today.

Speaking to reporters in George Town, he said he had obtained the consent of Yang Dipertua Negeri Ahmad Fuzi Abdul Razak in an audience at Seri Mutiara this morning. 

"I am relieved that this is over, so we can look forward to preparing for the state election with the date to be determined by the Election Commission," he added.

The Penang state assembly held its first meeting on Aug 1, 2018, after the 2018 general election. Its five-year mandate would have expired on Aug 2 this year.

At the last general election, Pakatan Harapan (PH) won 37 of the 40 state seats including two secured by Bersatu representatives during their time with the coalition.

Barisan Nasional (BN) won two, and PAS one.

In February 2020, Bersatu announced that it was quitting PH and joining Perikatan Nasional.

Its two representatives – Khaliq Mehtab Mohd Ishaq (Bertam) and Zolkifli Md Lazim (Teluk Bahang) – also withdrew their support for the PH-led state government.

A crisis in PKR also saw two of its assemblymen sacked, namely Dr Afif Bahardin (Seberang Jaya) and Zulkifli Ibrahim (Sungai Acheh).

The latest composition of the Penang state assembly sees PH holding 33 seats, followed by BN (two), Bersatu (four), and PAS (one).