Tuesday, January 25, 2022

34 sub-districts in Selangor, 14 localities in KL to come under EMCO

The enhanced movement control order will run for 14 days from July 3 to 16.

Other News

A number of areas in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur including the sub-district of Petaling, will be placed under enhanced movement control order for 14 days beginning July 3 in order to address the continued trend of high cases in these two states.

Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said all access to these areas will be sealed off.

Residents will be barred from leaving their homes, and only one household representative will be allowed to venture out to buy basic necessities within a radius of 10km.

Those who need to cross district and state lines to be vaccinated will also be allowed to travel, with proof of their appointments.

Meanwhile, the health ministry will perform targeted screening on residents in these areas.

Residents will not be allowed to leave their homes after 8pm except in emergency cases or with police permission, and only essential services will be allowed to remain open, from 8am to 8pm.

Only those in essential services or on official government business with letters of confirmation from their workers or a valid employee pass will be allowed to go to work. All others are prohibited from leaving the EMCO area.

Airports and ports will operate as usual while public transportation such as trains, buses, taxis and e-hailing vehicles will be limited to 50% capacity.

For taxis and e-hailing rides, a maximum of two people are allowed per vehicle including the driver.

Restaurants, food stalls, food trucks and roadside hawkers are allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm. Only takeaway, drive-thru and delivery services will be permitted.

Sundry shops and those selling daily necessities are likewise allowed to open from 8am to 8pm.

Hospitals, clinics and medical labs are allowed to operate 24 hours or according to their operating licence, while pharmacies, vets and shops selling pet food are allowed to open from 8am to 8pm.

Petrol stations are allowed to open from 6am to 8pm, with the exception of those on tolled highways which are allowed to remain open 24 hours.

Wholesale markets are allowed to open from 12am to 6am while public markets, permanent farmers’ markets and MyFarm Outlets can open from 6am to 2pm.

All sports, social, recreational and cultural activities are prohibited.

More details can be found on the website of the National Security Council.

Below is a list of the affected areas:



  • Petaling
  • Damansara
  • Sungai Buloh
  • Bukit Raja

Hulu Langat


  • Hulu Langat
  • Ampang
  • Cheras
  • Kajang
  • Semenyih
  • Beranang



  • Dengkil
  • Labu
  • Sepang



  • Batu
  • Rawang
  • Setapak
  • Hulu Kelang
  • Kuang

Kuala Langat


  • Tanjung 12 (1)
  • Tanjung 12 (2)
  • Teluk Panglima Garang
  • Morib
  • Bandar
  • Jugra
  • Batu



  • Kapar
  • Klang

Kuala Selangor


  • Ijok
  • Bestari Jaya
  • Jeram

Hulu Selangor


  • Serendah
  • Rasa
  • Ulu Yam
  • Batang Kali

Localities in Kuala Lumpur under EMCO

  • PPR Sri Semarak
  • PPR Batu Muda
  • Flat Seksyen 2 Wangsa Maju
  • Flat Seksyen 1 Wangsa Maju
  • Kampung Padang Balang
  • Taman Koperasi Polis (Fasa 1 & 2)
  • Flat Sri Sabah
  • Kampung Puah
  • PPR Kampung Baru Air Panas
  • Flat Desa Pandan (including Baiduri and Delima)
  • Kampung Batu Muda
  • PPR Kerinchi
  • Bandar Baru Sentul
  • Taman Ikan Emas

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles