- Advertisement -


What you need to know about the 15th general election.


Three BN component parties submit motion to dismiss Zahid

The presidents of MCA, MIC and PBRS have submitted a motion of no confidence against Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, ahead of a meeting of top leaders of the coalition tonight.

The three leaders in a letter addressed to BN secretary-general Zambry Abdul Kader said Zahid had gone against a collective decision to remain neutral in the current tussle between Pakatan Harapan and Perikatan Nasional to form the next government. 

"We demand Ahmad Zahid Hamidi to resign honorably and immediately as BN chairman and be replaced by deputy chairman, Mohamad Hasan," MCA's Wee Ka Siong, MIC's SA Vigneswaran and PBRS's Joseph Kurup said in their joint letter sighted by MalaysiaNow.

The three leaders said a similar motion to dismiss Zahid was put forward by Vigneswaran during a BN meeting yesterday, but the move was disrupted after Zahid allowed several MPs to enter the meeting venue.

MalaysiaNow earlier reported that Zahid was whisked away by several MPs alligned to him at a noisy meeting involving BN leaders last night.

They had demanded Zahid to resign following his admission that he arbitrarily sent a letter to the palace claiming all 30 BN MPs supported PH chairman Anwar Ibrahim for the prime minister's post.