Thursday, January 21, 2021

Two US auction theorists win 2020 Nobel in economics

The economists share prize money of RM4.5 million between them.

Other News

Bukan untuk menafikan hak penganut Hindu, kata MB Kedah

Penganut Hindu masih boleh menyambut Thaipusam di mana-mana sahaja, dengan mematuhi prosedur operasi standard (SOP).

Tennis stars told not to serve Melbourne hotel mice while in Covid quarantine

There has been confusion over infection numbers with several positive test results reclassified as 'viral shedding' from previous infections, which is not contagious.

With 6 months to go, cancellation fears cloud Tokyo Olympics

A poll this month found 80% of respondents opposed hosting the event this year, with 35% favouring outright cancellation and 45% calling for further postponement.

American LGBT woman to be deported after viral tweets on Bali

Her e-book 'Our Bali Life Is Yours' is said to have links to visa agents and tips on how foreigners could get into the country.

Waspada taktik penipuan ambil alih akaun WhatsApp, kata MCMC

Pelbagai helah memperdaya pengguna supaya menyerahkan kod pengesahan enam digit yang diterima daripada pihak WhatsApp.

American economists Paul Milgrom and Robert Wilson have been awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in economic sciences for their contributions to auction theory, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on Monday.

The men were honoured “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”, said secretary-general Goran Hansson for the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

“Their discoveries have benefitted sellers, buyers and taxpayers around the world,” the prize committee said in a statement.

The pair’s work has had significant positive effects on government auctions of radio frequencies, rail franchises and contracts for huge national infrastructure projects in several different countries.

The prize, called the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, has been awarded since 1969.

Laureates share prize money of 10 million Swedish kronor (RM4.5 million).

It is the last of the Nobel prizes to be awarded this year.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles