Wednesday, January 19, 2022

GPS under Abang Jo sets new record for seat wins

GPS has won 75 seats so far against the 72 won by BN under Adenan Satem in 2016.

Other News

Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) under its chairman Abang Johari Openg has succeeded in breaking the record for the most seats won by a coalition, set by his predecessor Adenan Satem at the 2016 state polls.

Official results from the election today showed that GPS had won 75 of the 82 seats in the legislative assembly although the results for the Mulu seat are still pending.

This was caused by a bad weather delay in the transport of ballot boxes to the official counting centre in Kuching, Election Commission chairman Abdul Ghani Salleh said.

Adenan had led the Barisan Nasional coalition to victory with 72 seats at the 2016 state election.

GPS, which fielded candidates in every state constituency, had voiced confidence before the election of a clean sweep come polling day.

Sarawak politics observer James Chin of the University of Tasmania meanwhile had predicted a close race, saying GPS would win at least 60 seats, more if it succeeded in swinging the mood of the voters.

Speaking at a press conference in Kuching, Ghani said the results for Mulu would be announced tomorrow.

He said ballot boxes from Long Seridan, Long Linei and Sg Belasoi might not arrive at the tallying centre at SMK Telang Usan tonight as the helicopter scheduled to transport the boxes could not fly due to the bad weather.

“Results for the constituency will be announced after the stranded ballot boxes have been received,” he said.

“The percentage of voter turnout will also be announced at the same time.”

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles