Saturday, January 22, 2022

60.67% voter turnout at Sarawak election

Gabungan Parti Sarawak won 76 out of 82 seats, including Mulu.

Other News

A total of 759,627 voters or 60.67% of the electorate in Sarawak turned out to vote at the 12th state election yesterday.

Election Commission chairman Abdul Ghani Salleh said in a statement that this includes the number of early voters and postal voters who had cast their ballots.

Official results of the election showed that Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) had won 76 of the 82 seats in the legislative assembly, including the Mulu seat, results of which had been left pending last night due to a delay in transport of ballot boxes to the counting centre in Kuching.

Ghani said GPS won the Mulu seat with a total of 3,731 votes and a majority of 2,875 votes.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles