Saturday, January 22, 2022

GPS retains Sarawak with simple majority

It has won 45 seats, more than the minimum needed to form the next state government.

Other News

Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has officially won the minimum number of seats needed to secure a simple majority and form the next state government.

As of 8.45pm, GPS had won 45 seats including the Gedong seat contested by its chairman and Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg.

GPS comprises Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), the Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

The Election Commission said at a press conference in Kuching that the voting process had gone smoothly.

“As of 8.45pm, GPS had won 45 seats of the 82, obtaining a simple majority of more than 50%,” EC chairman Abdul Ghani Salleh said.

The Sarawak election had seen multiway fights in all but four seats.

GPS fielded 82 candidates, Parti Bumi Kenyalang 73, Parti Sarawak Bersatu 70, PKR 28, DAP 26, Parti Aspirasi Rakyat Sarawak 15, Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru 11, Amanah eight, Parti Sedar Rakyat Sarawak five and PAS one.

A total of 30 independent candidates also contested the election.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles