Wednesday, January 19, 2022

349 candidates to clash in Sarawak polls

This includes eight who will be contesting the Dudong state seat.

Other News

A total of 349 candidates will contest the Sarawak state election on Dec 18 after successfully submitting their nomination papers today.

Multi-cornered fights will feature for all 82 seats in the Sarawak legislative assembly, with the biggest clash involving eight candidates in the Chinese-majority Dudong constituency.

Candidates will meet in a straight fight in four seats, three-way fights in 13 seats, four-cornered fights in 33 seats, five-way fights in 24 seats, and six-way fights in seven seats.

The seats of Bukit Sari and Bukit Kota which were won uncontested by Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu’s Awang Tengah Ali Hassan and Abdul Rahman Ismail in the 2016 state election will see three and four-cornered fights respectively this time around.

The youngest candidates are PKR’s Cherishe Ng and Parti Bumi Kenyalang’s Olivia Lom Wen Sia, both aged 24.

The oldest candidate meanwhile is Parti Sarawak Bersatu’s Wong Soon Koh who at 79 will be contesting the Bawang Assan seat.

Of the 349 candidates, 45 are women.

More than half are aged 50 and above, with 113 candidates in the 50 to 59 age bracket and 141 above 60 years old.

Election Commission chairman Abdul Ghani Salleh said a total of 351 nomination papers had been received.

However, two were rejected – one each in Jemoreng and Senadin.

Of the 349 candidates, 82 were from GPS, 73 from Parti Bumi Kenyalang, 70 from Parti Sarawak Bersatu, 28 from PKR, 26 from DAP, 15 from Parti Aspirasi Rakyat Sarawak, 11 from Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru, eight from Amanah, five from Parti Sedar Rakyat Sarawak, one from Parti Se-Malaysia and 30 independents.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles