Thursday, December 2, 2021

6-way fight for Asahan in Melaka polls

Candidates from Barisan Nasional, Pakatan Harapan and Perikatan Nasional as well as three independents will face off for the state seat.

Other News

There will be a six-cornered fight for the Asahan seat involving Barisan Nasional (BN), Perikatan Nasional (PN), Pakatan Harapan (PH) and three independent candidates in the Melaka election on Nov 20.

The candidates are Fairul Nizam Roslan (BN), Danesh Basil (PN), Idris Haron (PH) and independents Mohd Noor Salleh, Azmar Abdul Hamid and Mohd Akhir Ayob.

Returning officer for Asahanm Luqmannulhakim Mohamad Idris, announced the names at the nomination centre at the Selandar Community College at 10.50am after the time allocated for the submission of nomination papers ended at 10am.

In the last general election, Abdul Ghafar Atan of BN won the seat with a 275-vote majority.

The Election Commission has set polling day for the state election on Nov 20, while early voting is on Nov 16.

The state election is being held following the dissolution of the state assembly after four assemblymen announced that they had lost confidence in Chief Minister Sulaiman Md Ali’s leadership.

The four assemblymen were Idris (BN-Sungai Udang), Nor Azman Hassan (BN-Pantai Kundor), Norhizam Hassan Baktee (independent-Pengkalan Batu) and Noor Effandi Ahmad (Bersatu-Telok Mas).

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles