Thursday, May 19, 2022

PKR’s ‘shadow cabinet’ topped by Anwar, wife

Their daughter, meanwhile, has been tasked as main spokesman for the portfolio her mother previously headed.

Other News

PKR has announced a line-up of MPs from the party tasked as the parliamentary spokesmen for specific ministerial portfolios, with president Anwar Ibrahim and his wife Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail at the top of the hierarchy.

Anwar is the opposition leader, while Wan Azizah is named as the chairman of PKR’s advisory council in a list seen as the party’s shadow cabinet announced by organising secretary Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad today.

Their daughter Nurul Izzah meanwhile is assigned to women, family and community development, a portfolio under the Pakatan Harapan cabinet once led by her mother.

Other notable party leaders in the line-up include Johari Abdul who doubles for defence and home affairs, Saifuddin Nasution for finance and consumer affairs, and Nik Nazmi for education.

Padang Serai MP Karuppaiya Muthusamy has been named as Johari’s deputy, among a list of prominent MPs from the party who have been given the role of “assistant spokesmen”.

Other assistant spokesmen include Petaling Jaya MP Maria Chin Abdullah, Pasir Gudang MP Hassan Karim, Wangsa Maju MP Tan Yee Kew, and Tawau MP and former Sabah deputy chief minister Christina Liew.

Nik Nazmi said the tasks of the spokesmen in Parliament had been reorganised from a similar list announced in July last year.

“We are aware that this new system needed improvements as PKR is committed to empowering Parliament.

“This is in line with the resolve of Pakatan Harapan parties in stressing parliamentary reforms as contained in the memorandum of understanding (MoU) between the federal government and PH,” he added.

PKR won 48 seats at the 14th general election in May 2018. It currently holds 35 seats in Parliament.

About a dozen MPs from PKR quit the party last year following the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan government after Dr Mahathir Mohamad resigned as prime minister, including senior leaders such as Mohamed Azmin Ali and Zuraida Kamaruddin.

In March this year, another three left the party as well: Julau MP Larry Sng, Tebrau MP Steven Choong and Kuala Langat MP Xavier Jayakumar.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles