Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Azmin leads first batch of ministers in taking Cabinet oath

A total of 31 ministers and 38 deputy ministers were scheduled to be sworn in today.

Other News

International Trade and Industry Minister Mohamed Azmin Ali today led the first batch of ministers in taking their oath of office before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur.

The second group of ministers was led by Environment and Water Minister Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, the third was led by Communications and Multimedia Minister Annuar Musa, the fourth by Foreign Minister Saifuddin Abdullah and the fifth by Rural Development Minister Mahdzir Khalid.

Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah was also in attendance at the swearing-in ceremony of ministers and deputy ministers which began at 2.30pm.

Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob, however, was unable to attend the ceremony as he was undergoing self-quarantine after coming into close contact with a Covid-19 patient.

Chief Justice Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat and Chief Secretary to the Government Mohd Zuki Ali witnessed the ceremony.

The swearing-in ceremony followed Ismail’s announcement of his Cabinet line-up comprising 31 ministers and 38 deputy ministers last Friday.

Ismail was sworn in as the ninth prime minister on Aug 20, replacing Muhyiddin Yassin who resigned on Aug 16 after losing the majority support in Parliament.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles