Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Ismail Sabri sworn in as PM

This comes after he received the support of 114 out of 220 MPs.

Other News

Bera MP Ismail Sabri Yaakob has been sworn in as the country’s ninth prime minister, a day after Istana Negara confirmed that he had received the support of 114 out of 220 MPs.

Ismail took his oath of office before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara, witnessed by former leader Muhyiddin Yassin whose resignation had triggered the search for the next prime minister.

Ismail Sabri Yaakob takes his oath of office before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah at Istana Negara.

Ismail, 61, was appointed to the country’s top office following a rigorous process by Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah to determine which of the MPs commanded the majority support.

The 114 MPs who stated their support for him comprised those from Perikatan Nasional, Umno and GPS, as well as four independents.

Ismail had been among the Umno leaders and Cabinet members who refused to join their party bosses Najib Razak and Ahmad Zahid Hamidi in campaigning for Muhyiddin’s ouster by revoking their support for him.

He was accompanied at the ceremony today by his wife Muhaini Zainal Abidin.

His signing of his oath of office was witnessed by Chief Secretary to the Government Mohd Zuki Ali and Chief Justice Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat.

Also present were Zahid, Dewan Negara president Rais Yatim, Dewan Rakyat Speaker Azhar Harun, PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang, Parti Bersatu Sabah president Maximus Ongkili and Gabungan Parti Sarawak chairman Abang Johari Openg.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles