Monday, January 24, 2022

Travel for tourism allowed between RMCO states

However, only vehicles registered with the tourism, arts and culture ministry will be allowed, among other conditions.

Other News

The government has given the green light for tourist travel between states under the recovery movement control order (RMCO) through the targeted travel bubble programme starting tomorrow.

Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob however said the activities would be subject to strict SOPs including the requirement to go through registered travel agencies under the tourism, arts and culture ministry.

“It must use tour vehicles registered with the ministry such as tour buses. Tourism activities using privately owned vehicles are still prohibited,” he said in a press conference on MCO developments today.

He said tour vehicles are also required to seek approval from the police, and will not be allowed to stop in states under CMCO.

Ismail said the tourism locations and premises must also obtain approval from the ministry.

There are currently seven states under RMCO until March 15: Melaka, Pahang, Terengganu, Sabah, Putrajaya, Labuan and Perlis.

Ismail said the government had also agreed to change Langkawi’s status to RMCO starting tomorrow as there were no new Covid-19 cases reported at the island although Kedah is still under CMCO.

“The last Covid-19 cases reported were on Feb 20 with two cases. Hence, the targeted travel bubble is also applicable to Langkawi island,” he said.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles