Monday, November 29, 2021

Agong approves 19-member emergency committee led by ex-top judge

The committee comprises a who’s who list of prominent former civil servants, medical professionals and politicians.

Other News

Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah has consented to the appointment of 19 members to the bipartisan committee tasked with advising him on measures to contain the Covid-19 pandemic throughout the virus emergency.

The Prime Minister’s Office said the Independent Special Committee, to be chaired by former chief justice Arifin Zakaria, will be formed under the Emergency (Essential Powers) Ordinance 2021 which came into force last month following the emergency declaration.

It said the Prime Minister’s Department and the National Security Council will act as secretariat for the committee.

The committee includes three former ministers under the Pakatan Harapan government whose names were submitted by the opposition coalition last month: PKR’s Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, DAP’s Loke Siew Fook and Amanah’s Dzulkefly Ahmad.

It also comprises a who’s who list of prominent former civil servants: former chief secretary to the government Samsudin Osman, former police chief Norian Mai, former armed forces general Zulkifli Zainal Abidin, and former health director-general Mohamad Taha Arif.

Several medical specialists are also on the committee, including heart surgeon Dr Yahya Awang and public health expert Dr Andrew Kiyu Dawi anak Usop.

Others include Malaysian Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry president Ter Leong Yap, Universiti Cyberjaya pro-chancellor Dr R Palan, and former deputy public prosecutor at the Attorney-General’s Chambers Sallehuddin Saidin.

Perlis mufti Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin appears to be the only religious leader in the group.

Other politicians on the committee are Tanjung Karang MP Noh Omar, Batang Lupar MP Rohani Abdul Karim, Beaufort MP Azizah Mohd Dun, and Pasir Puteh MP Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles