Saturday, December 4, 2021

Flood situation improves in 4 states but more evacuated in Johor

More evacuees have been allowed to return home in Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Perak but the number of flood victims has risen in Johor.

Other News

The flood situation in Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Perak had improved as of 8am with more evacuees allowed to return home.

However, the number of evacuees rose in Johor due to continuous rain since last night.

In Kelantan, a total of 1,702 evacuees remained at 16 relief centres compared to 2,118 yesterday evening.

According to the Welfare Department’s Disaster Info application, Pasir Mas still has the highest number of residents affected by the floods with 1,206 housed at 10 relief centres, followed by Kuala Krai with 496 accommodated at six relief centres.

In Terengganu, head of the state disaster management committee secretariat, Lt Col (PA) Che Adam A Rahman, said the number of evacuees dropped to 3,956 compared to 6,981 as of 3pm yesterday.

“All of them are housed at 17 relief centres with a total of 3,564 victims in Kemaman and 392 in Dungun,” he told reporters today.

In Pahang, flood evacuees dropped to 23,944 housed at 242 relief centres.

Temerloh remained the worst-affected district with 11,210 evacuees followed by Maran (3,143), Pekan (2,652), Lipis (2,028) Bera (1,583), Raub (1,466) and Jerantut (1,098) as of 8am.

Meanwhile, in Perak, only one relief centre is still operational: the Teluk Intan Municipal Council Hall which is sheltering 44 flood victims in the Hilir Perak district.

Johor saw the number of flood evacuees rise to 3,145 in five districts as of 8am.

State health and environment committee chairman R Vidyananthan said in a statement today that Kota Tinggi had the highest number of victims at 1,848, followed by Johor Bahru (1,057), Kulai and Segamat (94 each) and Mersing (52), housed at 38 relief centres.

He said Jalan Felda Semenchu (Semenchu junction) (FT1406) is closed to all vehicles while Jalan Kota Tinggi-Mersing (LGM) (FT003), Jalan Kota Tinggi-Kluang (Batu 25)(FT091) and Kampung Lukut Cina-Kampung Batu 4 (Taman Aman) (J175) are closed to all light vehicles.

Jalan Tai Hong (Taman Scientex) (J053), Jalan Tai Hong (Orkid) (J053), Jalan Sungai Telor (J090) and Mawai Lama (J172) are also closed to light vehicles.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles