Monday, January 18, 2021

Back to conditional MCO for Selangor, KL, Putrajaya and Sabah

The CMCO in KL, Putrajaya and Selangor will run from Oct 14 to 27 while restrictions in Sabah will kick in tonight, ending on Oct 26.

Other News

Jet pejuang Israel bedil Semenanjung Gaza

Serangan menyasarkan terowong milik kumpulan Hamas.

Samsung heir jailed over bribery scandal involving ex-president

It's the latest twist in a convoluted legal controversy that has dogged Samsung for years.

Rogol dalam lokap dipercayai berlaku, kata polis

Kejadian rogol itu berlaku membabitkan tahanan remaja di lokap Balai Polis Pusat Miri.

Riots erupt in Tunisian cities amid anger over growing poverty

Many Tunisians questioned the timing of a four-day lockdown imposed ostensibly to contain the spread of Covid-19.

Let the show go on at Zoo Negara

Closing the zoo throughout the MCO would endanger the both the finances of the zoo and the lives of the animals within.

Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Sabah will come under conditional movement control order (CMCO) again following the recent increase in Covid-19 cases in these areas.

The CMCO in the first three areas will run from Oct 14 to 27 while the CMCO in Sabah will begin at midnight tonight, ending on Oct 26.

Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the decision was made at a special meeting of the National Security Council today.

In Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Putrajaya, all economic activities will be allowed to continue as usual, although interdistrict travel will be prohibited for the duration of the order. Those who need to cross district borders for work purposes must show work passes or letters of permission from their employers.

Only two people per household will be allowed to go out for groceries and food supplies, while schools, institutes of higher education, vocation training centres, kindergartens, tahfiz centres, public parks, recreational centres, entertainment centres and night clubs will be closed.

Mosques and non-Muslim houses of worship will also be required to close, and sports, recreational, social and cultural events including wedding ceremonies will be barred.

In Sabah, economic, industrial and business activities will be allowed to continue although contingent on strict SOPs to be announced by the NSC.

Wholesale markets and day markets will be allowed to operate from 6am until 2pm, while shops selling essential goods and sundry shops can open from 6am to 6pm.

Restaurants and eateries will likewise be allowed to oeprate from 6am to 6pm, but limited to drive-thru, delivery and takeaway services.

Petrol stations can open from 6am to 6pm while taxis and e-hailing services as well as food delivery will be allowed from 6am to 8pm.

Pharmacies and medicine shops will be allowed to open from 6am to 6pm while clinics and government hospitals will run 24 hours a day.

Further details will be made available on the NSC website.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles

All it takes to lose a war

The government owes no apology in declaring an emergency to lock down politicians jostling for power.

Australia unlikely to open borders this year

Border restrictions will continue despite the rollout of vaccines, with quarantine to remain a norm as well.

Brazil finally approves and rolls out AstraZeneca and Sinovac vaccines

President Bolsonaro continues to spread doubts about vaccines and has come under renewed fire in recent months.

India hails ‘life saving’ Covid-19 vaccine rollout

With only three admitted to the hospital due to side effects from the vaccines, India says its vaccination process is on to a successful start.

Behind the ups and downs of fuel prices

The cost of crude oil, supply, demand and competition as well as supply disruptions all play a role in determining the price of petrol.