Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Sabah off-limits as CMCO announced in several districts

A conditional movement control order will be enforced in Kota Kinabalu, Penampang and Putatan.

Other News

Only Malaysians who come from Sabah and those who hold passes issued by the Sabah immigration department will be allowed to enter the state beginning Oct 7, as the government announced new restrictions in several areas today.

Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the government would enforce a conditional movement control order (CMCO) in Kota Kinabalu, Penampang and Putatan beginning midnight on Oct 7 following the Covid-19 developments there.

During this time, no movement in or out of these areas will be allowed. Only essential services including factory operations will be permitted to continue.

Others who wish to enter the state must obtain permission from the state government.

Ismil said the decision was made in a special meeting of ministers today.

In a statement, he said a full list of essential services in the affected areas would be issued by the international trade and industry ministry.

He said only two people from each household would be allowed to leave their home for food and other necessities.

Restaurants, eateries and sundry shops will only be permitted to operate from 6am to 6pm, while food can only be bought at drive-thrus or through delivery and take-away.

Petrol stations will likewise be allowed to operate from 6am to 6pm, while day markets can open from 6am to 2pm.

Night markets, wholesale markets and farmers’ markets will not be allowed to operate.

Other SOPs include:

– Clinics and hospitals to run 24 hours;
– Pharmacies and medicine shops to open from 6am to 6pm;
– Activities and services at airports and ports to continue although workers and passengers will need police permission;
– Vehicles carrying essential goods to move freely, also with police permission;
– Taxi and e-hailing services to operate from 6am to 8pm with a maximum of two passengers;
– Food delivery services to operate from 6am to 8pm as well;
– Express bus and stop-and-go bus services to be prohibited;
– Movement in emergency cases to be allowed, but with permission from the authorities;
– Mosques and other places of worship, institutes of education and kindergartens and daycare centres to close;
– Sports, recreation, social and cultural activities to be barred.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates:

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles