Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Govt slaps entry ban on 23 countries due to Covid-19

These include the US, Brazil, Italy, Germany, the Philippines and Indonesia.

Other News

Long-term pass holders from 23 countries recording more than 150,000 Covid-19 cases have been barred from entering Malaysia effective today.

According to a list issued by the immigration department on its official Facebook page, the countries include the US, Brazil, India, Russia, Peru, Colombia, South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Argentina and Chile.

Also on the list are Iran, the UK, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, France, Turkey, Italy, Germany, Iraq, the Philippines and Indonesia.

On Sept 1, Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced an entry ban on long-term visit pass holders from India, Indonesia and the Philippines due to a spike in Covid-19 cases there.

The ban covered six categories of pass holders, namely those with permanent resident status, Malaysia My Second Home programme participants, expatriates including professional visit pass holders and resident pass holders.

Also barred were spouses of Malaysian citizens and their children as well as students from the three countries wishing to return to Malaysia.

Two days later, Ismail announced the government’s decision to impose an entry ban on citizens from countries recording more than 150,000 cases of Covid-19.

He said exemptions would be given for emergency cases or matters pertaining to bilateral relations although these would require permission from the immigration department.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/malaysianow

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news and analyses.

Related Articles